top of page

What are Chakras??

To give you a brief understanding; Chakras are energy centres which connect our physical body to our consciousness (or all that is not physical/visible; our emotions, and spiritual being). This energy is called Prana, or life force; which keeps us vibant, healthy and alive. They are believed to be circular or cone shaped type vortexes which spin. If the energy becomes blocked or stagnates; for any physical/emotional/spiritual reason, this can ultimately affect our Prana (life force) and present itself in any number of ways. There are a number of chakras, but there are 7 main ones. Each chakra represents different colours, elements, emotions and areas of the body and consciousness.

The Seven Main Chakras:

Root Chakra

Colour: Red

Element: Earth

Physical body: Feet, knees, legs, kidneys, adrenals, perineum, base of spine, large intestines

Located at the base of the spine; root chakra relates to our groundedness, survival and basic needs.

This chakra is all about feeling safe and secure.

It is connected to how we nourish ourselves, as well as our home/shelter. on an emotional level it is about feeling safe and letting go of fear.

Affirmations: "I feel safe and secure", "I trust myself", "I am grounded and stable"

Essential oils to support a healthy Root Chakra: Cypress, Patchouli, Arbovitae, Basil

Sacral Chakra

Colour: Orange

Element: Water

Physical Body: Reproductive organs, urinary system, spleen, low back

Located just below the naval; Sacral chakra is related to our sexual energy and creativity. It also relates to our connection with others and having healthy boundaries.

Affirmations: "I take care of my body", "I am passionate", "I allow myself to experience pleasure"

Essential Oils to support a healthy Sacral Chakra: Ylang Ylang, Wild Orange, Cinnamon, Black Pepper.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Colour: Yellow

Element: Fire

Physical Body: Spine, spleen, upper abdomen, gallbladder, pancreas, small intestines, digestive system, metabolism

Located just above the navel; Solar Plexus chakra is our source of personal power and self-esteem. It controls our ability to be confident and in control of our lives. It’s also associated with fear, anxiety, and our sense of purpose. It's responsible for all things metabolic, digestive, and stomach related.

Affirmations: "I am strong and brave", "I am proud of myself and my achievements", "I am the architect of my life"

Essential Oils to Support a healthy Solar Plexus Chakra: Bergamot, Juniper Berry, Ginger, Grapefruit

Heart Chakra

Colour: Green

Element: Air

Physical Body: Heart, lungs, thymus, breasts, arms

Located in the heart region; Heart Chakra represents the meeting place of the physical and the spiritual. Whilst it is responsible for all of the organs of the chest; it's also about our ability to love and our awakening to spiritual awareness. in a balanced Heart Chakra, love and compassion flow freely, both in giving and receiving.

Affirmations: "I forgive myself and others", "I am open to love", "I live in balance and peace"

Essential Oils to support a healthy Heart Chakra; Rose, Geranium, Peppermint, Thyme

Throat Chakra

Colour: Blue

Element: Sound

Physical Body: Throat, thyroid, parathyroid, voice, neck, jaw, mouth, larynx, ears

Located at the centre of the throat/neck; The throat chakra rules all areas of communication. Making sure that you’re speaking your inner feelings and truths and that they’re being properly communicated. It’s also about our ability to listen as well. Are we listening to others, but more importantly are we listening to ourselves?

Affirmations: "I speak my truth", "I easily communicate my feelings", "I share my experiences and wisdom with others."

Essential Oils to support a healthy Throat Chakra: Lavender, Jasmine, Birch, Oregano.

Third Eye Chakra

Colour: Indigo

Element: Light

Physical Body: Brain health, pineal gland, vision

Located in the centre of the Forehead; Third Eye Chakra is your intuition. It’s your perception, imagination, memory, wisdom and the ability to think and make decisions. It is also connecting your higher and lower self and intuitive clarity. It’s the link between you and the outside world allowing you to cut through illusions to see the clear picture.

Affirmations: "I am connected to the wisdom of the universe", "I am intuitive", "I am in touch with my inner guidance"

Essential Oils to support a healthy Thrid Eye Chakra: Sandalwood, Clary Sage, Lemongrass

Crown Chakra

Colour: Violet

Element: Thought

Physical Body: Hypothalamus, central nervous system, cerebral cortex

Located at the crown of the head; Crown Chakra is the meeting point where your physical body and individual consciousness meets a higher state or universal consciousness. This is what enables you to experience spiritual growth and feel connected to the universe. It is your connection to the Divine Source (whatever that may be for you). Crown chakra helps you move past your materialistic needs accessing the utmost clarity and enlightened wisdom.

Affirmations: "I am connected to the wisdom of the universe", "I trust my intuition", "I live in the present moment"

Essential Oils to support a healthy Crown Chakra: Frankincense, Cedar Wood, Helichyrsum, Lemon


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page